About Lois


Reader Mail

Writing Tips


Media Press Kit

Buy Lois' Books



Courage-to-Win Characters You Want to Know

Lois Walfrid Johnson, Author

Escape into the Night
Book 1 Now Available!

New Releases from the Freedom Seekers Series

Study guide in every Freedom Seeker novel to help your schooling.

Travel back to 1857 with Libby, Caleb, and Jordan, who need to make life-changing choices that answer the question, "What does freedom really mean?" From the golden age of steamboats, the rush of immigrants to new land, and the heart-stopping dangers of the Underground Railroad, come true-to-life stories of courage, integrity, and suspense.

#1 Escape into the Night

Libby's life changes drastically when she comes to live on the steamboat Christina. Though rich in material things, she recognizes her emotional poverty when she discovers the secret and dangerous work of 14-year-old Caleb, a conductor in the Underground Railroad.


Escape into the Night
Book 2 Now Available!

#2 Race for Freedom

A suspicious man boards the Christina, and Caleb and Libby know that the fugitive slave Jordan risks capture by his cruel owner. Then Elsa, a newfound immigrant friend, faces illness and possible death. As the Christina enters an historic steamboat race, what does it mean to really win? And how can Libby, Caleb, and Jordan go beyond fear to act in courage?

Midnight Rescue
Book 3 Now Available!

#3 Midnight Rescue

Proud and determined, Libby thinks she can do whatever she sets out to do. Instead, runaway horses, an escaped convict, and a broken log raft get in the way. As Jordan makes plans to rescue his family from slavery, Libby gives away a life-or-death secret.  What will happen to Jordan's family and the people who risk their lives in the Underground Railroad?

Race for Freedom
Book 4 Now Available!

#4 The Swindler's Treasure

"Sometimes there's a cost to doing the right thing," says Captain Norstad after standing up to a swindler. But the cost is high—the possible loss of his steamboat. Then a theft threatens Jordan's reputation. As the Christina's family faces desperate times, a deaf child named Peter joins them. What does it mean to work for what they believe when facing fear on every side?

Race for Freedom
Book 5 Now Available!

#5 Mysterious Signal

"I want to be safe," Libby thinks, but faces a sacrifice she dreads. Dangerous men threaten Jordan, his father, and Peter. Can they find a mysterious signal and reach a safe house in time? Can the friends escape a steamboat accident to pay off a loan and save the Christina? In a time when Libby no longer believes in her own value, can she and the others work together to win?

Race for Freedom
Book 6 Now Available!

#6 The Fidler's Secret

In the midst of Libby's matchmaking attempts to bring together her widowed father and Annika, a gifted violinist boards the Christina. As Jordan wonders about the possibility of his family living in Minnesota Territory, the Freedom Seekers face mysteries on every side. Can the Christina possibly escape a dangerous ice storm? Who stole the fiddler's treasured violin? Where is Annika? And what is the fiddler's secret?


Learn more about the Freedom Seekers Series



"Every book, every novel, every story I write is a special letter from me to you. My love and warm best wishes to each one of you---"

Friend of Families,